• Print
  • E-Mail

The KEYMARK - The Key to the European Market

KEYMARK

A uniform Product Quality Mark for European Consumers

On recommendation of the European Council to improve the consumer protection and to counteract the uncertainty of consumers by a mark variety, the European Standards Organizations CEN and CENELEC have developed a harmonised European Mark System for standardized products.

The KEYMARK is the European Certification Mark showing the conformity of products and services with European Standards.

Whereas CE-marking shows the observance of legal minimum requirements, the KEYMARK provides a real surplus value for the consumer: tested and certified observance of uniform European Quality Standards. The legally requested CE-marking for certain products can be completed thereby in a meaningful way.

A product may only be marked with the KEYMARK, if it was tested and certified before by a neutral, independent and competent body. The factory inspection and Initial Type Testing (ITT), apart from the regular inspection, constitute an important element of the procedure for granting the KEYMARK.

Beyond that, the manufacturer has to carry out a Factory Production Control (FPC) in consideration of the relevant product standards and the elements of EN ISO 9001. This quality system is controlled by an annual inspection and is completed by type testing which takes place at least every 2 years.

Testing laboratories, inspection and certification bodies, taking part in the procedure, have to prove an accreditation according to relevant standards. Furthermore, certification bodies have to be empowered to grant the KEYMARK.

Since 2015, the empowerment of certification bodies, the administration of the KEYMARK and the management on behalf of CEN is assumed by DIN CERTCO.

Benefits for manufacturers and service providers

  • Lower costs for testing, inspection and certification
  • Easier access to European market
  • Increased consumer confidence
  • Certified product quality
  • Increased sales opportunities
  • Improved company image

Further information about the KEYMARK is available via www.keymark.eu.

• Drucken
  • E-Mail

Die KEYMARK - Der Schlüssel für Europa

Europa

Ein einheitliches Produktqualitätszeichen für die europäischen Verbraucher

Auf Empfehlung des Europäischen Rates zur Verbesserung der Verbraucherschutzinteressen und um der Verunsicherung von Verbrauchern durch eine Zeichenvielfalt entgegenzuwirken, haben die europäischen Normungsorganisationen CEN und CENELEC ein europäisch vereinheitlichtes Verfahren für die Kennzeichnung von genormten Produkten geschaffen.

Die KEYMARK ist das europäische Zertifizierungszeichen, das die Übereinstimmung von Produkten und Dienstleistungen mit Europäischen Normen dokumentiert.

Während die CE-Kennzeichnung primär die Einhaltung gesetzlicher Mindeststandards anzeigt, bietet die KEYMARK dem Verbraucher einen echten Mehrwert: die geprüfte und zertifizierte Einhaltung einheitlicher europäischer Qualitätsstandards. Die für bestimmte Produkte gesetzlich geforderte CE-Kennzeichnung kann damit in sinnvoller Weise ergänzt werden.

Ein Produkt darf nur dann mit der KEYMARK gekennzeichnet werden, wenn es zuvor durch neutrale, unabhängige und kompetente Stellen geprüft und zertifiziert wurde. Inspektion und Typprüfung stellen neben der regelmäßigen Überwachung wichtige Elemente des Verfahrens zur Vergabe der KEYMARK dar.

Darüber hinaus muss der Hersteller eine werkseigene Produktionskontrolle (WPK) unter Berücksichtigung der Elemente der EN ISO 9001 durchführen. Dieses Qualitätssystem unterliegt einer jährlichen Überwachung und wird durch eine mindestens alle 2 Jahre stattfindende Produktprüfung ergänzt.

Alle am Verfahren teilnehmenden Prüf-, Überwachungs- und Zertifizierungsstellen müssen eine Akkreditierung nach den einschlägigen Normen nachweisen und bevollmächtigt sein, die KEYMARK zu vergeben. Darüber hinaus müssen Zertifizierungsstellen bevollmächtigt sein, die KEYMARK zu vergeben

Seit 2015 wird die Bevollmächtigung von Zertifizierungsstellen, die Verwaltung der KEYMARK sowie das Management im Auftrag von CEN durch DIN CERTCO wahrgenommen.

Vorteile für Hersteller und Dienstleister

  • reduzierte Kosten für Prüfungen, Inspektionen und Zertifizierung
  • vereinfachter Zutritt zum europäischen Markt
  • erhöhtes Verbrauchervertrauen
  • zertifizierte Produktqualität
  • höhere Absatzchancen
  • verbessertes Unternehmensimage

Weitere Informationen zur KEYMARK finden Sie unter www.keymark.eu.