• Print
  • E-Mail

GS Mark

GS Mark

The GS Mark (GS = Geprüfte Sicherheit = Tested Safety) is a recognised safety mark that is respected in many countries outside Germany. Its purpose is to ensure that in the area of consumer and labour protection the safety requirements applying to technical equipment have been fulfilled, and that such compliance is tested and regularly inspected by an independent (approved) body. The mark is based on the Produktsicherheitsgesetz (= Product Safety Law - ProdSG).

A type testing on a specimen is used to establish whether the product meet the requirements of the Product Safety Law. For this purpose, a voluntary safety test of the product is performed by a body approved by the Central Agency of the Laender for Safe Technology (ZLS).

The approved body must ensure by appropriate control measures (products and production plant monitoring) that only products which are identical to the specimen are actually are placed on the market. Where the applicable conditions are fulfilled, manufacturers are entitled to apply the GS Mark to their products. It is prohibited to apply the GS Mark to products that have not been tested and assessed by an approved body.

The GS Mark has proved its value over many years. It makes an effective contribution to consumer protection and supports traders in their obligation to offer the consumer safe products. It is in the interest of trade, and in accordance with its legal obligations, to contribute by its own actions to prevent improper use of the GS Mark.

DIN CERTCO is an approved body within the terms of the Product Safety Law and undertakes certification in the following product ranges:

• Drucken
  • E-Mail

Das GS-Zeichen

GS-Zeichen

Das GS-Zeichen (GS = geprüfte Sicherheit) ist ein anerkanntes Sicherheitszeichen, das weit über die Grenzen Deutschlands Beachtung findet. Im Bereich des Verbraucher- und Arbeitsschutzes soll es die Gewähr dafür bieten, dass die sicherheitstechnischen Anforderungen eines Produktes erfüllt und durch eine unabhängige (zugelassene) Stelle geprüft und regelmäßig überwacht werden. Das Zeichen basiert auf dem Produktsicherheitsgesetz, ProdSG.

Durch eine Bauartprüfung an einem Baumuster wird festgestellt, ob das Produkt den Anforderungen des Produktsicherheitsgesetzes entspricht. Hierzu wird bei einer durch die Zentralstelle der Länder für Sicherheitstechnik (ZLS) zugelassenen Stelle eine freiwillige sicherheitstechnische Überprüfung des Produktes durchgeführt.

Die zugelassene Stelle muss durch Kontrollmaßnahmen (Produkt- und Fertigungsstättenüberwachung) sicherstellen, dass nur dem Baumuster entsprechende Produkte in den Verkehr gebracht werden. Liegen diese Voraussetzungen vor, darf der Hersteller sein Produkt mit dem "GS = geprüfte Sicherheit"-Zeichen versehen. Eine Kennzeichnung mit dem GS-Zeichen, die nicht auf der Prüfung und Bewertung durch eine zugelassene Stelle basiert, ist nicht zulässig.

Das GS-Zeichen hat sich seit vielen Jahren bewährt. Es leistet einen wirksamen Beitrag zum Verbraucherschutz und unterstützt den Handel bei seiner Verpflichtung, dem Verbraucher sichere Produkte anzubieten. Es liegt im Interesse des Handels und entspricht seiner gesetzlichen Verpflichtung, durch eigene Schritte einen Beitrag gegen die missbräuchliche Verwendung des GS-Zeichens zu leisten.

DIN CERTCO ist zugelassene Stelle im Sinne des Produktsicherheitsgesetzes und führt Zertifizierungen in folgenden Produktbereichen durch: