• Print
  • E-Mail

Recognition of Testing Laboratories and Inspection Bodies

Recognition of Testing Laboratories and Inspection Bodies

Conducting certification processes entails cooperation with suitable (competent) testing laboratories, inspection bodies, and external experts. As an accredited certification body, DIN CERTCO cooperates only with testing laboratories, inspection bodies and experts recognized by itself.

The proof of competence of testing laboratories and inspection bodies is based on the requirements defined in the international standards

  • DIN EN ISO/IEC 17025 „General requirements for the competence of testing and calibration laboratories“ respectively
  • DIN EN ISO/IEC 17020 „Conformity assessment – Requirements for the operation of various types of bodies performing inspection“

Accreditations from independent accreditation bodies or also recognitions from authorities are taken into consideration. Nevertheless, they do not replace the final recognition by DIN CERTCO as well as the fulfillment of further requirements, e.g.:

  • sufficient equipment in the testing facility
  • insurance policies present covering liability for errors
  • regular tests and monitoring conducted
  • participation in round robin tests
  • participation in an exchange of experience, etc.
  • neutrality and independence

2. The way to recognition

Applications for recognition of a testing laboratory or inspection body shall be sent to DIN CERTCO in writing. Based on the documents submitted, DIN CERTCO will check whether the current general requirements for recognition are being met.

If a testing laboratory also is interested in performing factory inspections for DIN CERTCO in the applied scope, it is possible that it is recognized as inspection body. Alternatively, the inspectors/auditors can be recognized as single persons. For further information please see the application procedure for external experts (interner Link).

The proof of competence is bases on

  • a valid accreditation
  • and/or an on-site assessment
  • including a check of submitted documents and
  • if applicable comparison test or witness audit

If there is already a relevant accreditation of the testing laboratory for the testing scope applied for, a simplified recognition process can be conducted, which as a rule, is limited to checking accreditation documents and the quality manual of the applicant. Otherwise, as a rule, an on-site assessment is necessary. In this regard, DIN CERTCO can serve as an independent expert, where needed.

If the result of the assessment is positive, an agreement on cooperation is concluded and the testing laboratory or inspection body receives a corresponding certificate of approval.

All testing laboratories and inspection bodies recognized by DIN CERTCO are subject to regular monitoring within the validity of recognition of 5 years. This ensures that the recognition requirements are continually met. The monitoring takes into account a document check, as well as round robin tests, obligatory meetings for experience exchange and witness audits for inspection bodies.

• Drucken
  • E-Mail

Anerkennung von Prüflaboratorien und Inspektionsstellen

Anerkennung von Prüflaboratorien und  Inspektionsstellen

Zur Durchführung von Zertifizierungsverfahren gehört die Zusammenarbeit mit geeigneten (kompetenten) Prüflaboratorien bzw. Inspektionsstellen und externen Experten. Als akkreditierte Zertifizierungsstelle arbeitet DIN CERTCO nur mit von ihr anerkannten Prüflaboratorien, Inspektionsstellen und externen Experten zusammen.

Der Kompetenznachweis von Prüflaboratorien bzw. Inspektionsstellen richtet sich hierbei nach den Anforderungen der internationalen Normen

  • DIN EN ISO/IEC 17025 „Allgemeine Anforderungen an die Kompetenz von Prüf- und Kalibrierlaboratorien“ bzw.
  • DIN EN ISO/IEC 17020 „Konformitätsbewertung – Anforderungen an den Betrieb verschiedener Typen von Stellen, die Inspektionen durchführen“

Hierbei werden Akkreditierungen unabhängiger Akkreditierungsstellen oder Anerkennungen behördlicher Stellen berücksichtigt. Sie ersetzen jedoch nicht die abschließende Anerkennung durch DIN CERTCO sowie die Erfüllung weiterer Faktoren wie z. B.:

  • geeignete Ausstattung des Prüfstandes
  • Vorliegen abgeschlossener Versicherungen hinsichtlich Haftung bei Fehlern
  • Regelmäßige Vornahme von Prüfungen und Überwachungen
  • Teilnahme an Ringversuchen Teilnahme am Erfahrungsaustausch etc.
  • Neutralität und Unabhängigkeit

Der Weg zur Anerkennung

Der Antrag auf Anerkennung wird vom Prüflaboratorium oder der Inspektionsstelle schriftlich an DIN CERTCO gerichtet. DIN CERTCO prüft anhand der eingereichten Unterlagen, ob die für die Anerkennung bestehenden allgemeinen Voraussetzungen erfüllt werden.

Möchte ein Prüflaboratorium im beantragten Bereich gleichzeitig Inspektionen für DIN CERTCO durchführen, besteht die Möglichkeit, dass es sich zusätzlich als Inspektionsstelle anerkennen lässt. Alternativ kann es seine Inspektoren/Auditoren einzeln anerkennen lassen. Es wird in diesem Fall auf das Anerkennungsverfahren von externen Experten verwiesen (interner Link).

Der Kompetenznachweis und erfolgt auf Basis

  • einer gültigen Akkreditierung
  • oder/und eines Audits vor Ort
  • inkl. Unterlagenprüfung und
  • ggf. einer Teilnahme an Vergleichsmessungen bzw. Witness-Audits

Liegt bereits eine einschlägige Akkreditierung des Prüflaboratoriums für das beantragte Prüfgebiet vor, kann ein vereinfachtes Anerkennungsverfahren durchgeführt werden, das sich in der Regel auf die Prüfung der Akkreditierungsunterlagen sowie des QM-Handbuches des Antragstellers beschränkt. Ansonsten wird in der Regel eine Begutachtung vor Ort erforderlich. Hierzu kann sich DIN CERTCO ggf. externer Begutachter bedienen.

Bei positivem Ergebnis der Begutachtung wird eine Vereinbarung über die Zusammenarbeit geschlossen und eine Anerkennungsurkunde ausgestellt.

Ein von DIN CERTCO anerkanntes Prüflaboratorium bzw. die Inspektionsstelle unterliegt einer regelmäßigen Überwachung innerhalb des Anerkennungszeitraums von 5 Jahren, um sicherzustellen, dass die Anerkennungsanforderungen weiterhin erfüllt werden. Dies beinhaltet zum einen Unterlagenprüfungen, aber auch die Teilnahme an Erfahrungsaustauschkreisen sowie Ringprüfungen bzw. Witness-Audits für Inspektionsstellen.