• Print
  • E-Mail

Grill Charcoal / Grill Charcoal Briquettes

Grill Charcoal / Grill Charcoal Briquettes

Grill charcoal is produced by heating wood or other vegetable constituents with a controlled supply of air. Grill charcoal briquettes can be pressed from particles of charcoal together with a suitable bonding agent. Grill charcoal and grill charcoal briquettes are also available from retailers impregnated with lighter fluid. Both fuels are used for barbecuing on charcoal-fired barbecues.

In assessing the grill charcoal and grill charcoal briquettes, not only do the materials undergo testing of relevance to health, e.g. we search for impurities, questions relating to suitability for use also play a key role: Particularly high carbon content makes for excellent combustion performance, very favourable lighting and low ash content.

Grill charcoal and grill charcoal briquettes with the DIN-Geprüft mark of conformity are proven to meet all the requirements of the standard.

Grill charcoal and grill charcoal briquettes of premium quality may show the DINplus mark of quality. This is advantageous for manufacturers, traders and consumers.

Basis of Testing

The European Standard DIN EN 1860-2 "Appliances, solid fuels and firelighters for barbecueing - Part 2: Barbecue charcoal and barbecue charcoal briquettes - Requirements and test methods" and additional requirements set out in the certification scheme are the basis for testing of charcoal and charcoal-briquettes in high quality. These can be marked with the quality mark DINplus.

DINplus

The Quality Mark DINplus

The quality mark DINplus is well-known and recognized in the fuel industry by the certification of wood pellets. A very high carbon content ensures an excellent combustion performance, a very convenient inflame and a low ash content.

Additional Requirements:

  • Particularly low ash content:
    • Grill charcoal: max. 4 % (wf)
    • Grill charcoal-briquettes: max. 15 % (wf)
  • Particularly high carbon content:
    • Grill charcoal: min. 80 % (wf)
    • Grill charcoal-briquettes: min. 65 % (wf)
  • Identification of the packing: See leaflet

Quality criteria

Further Quality criteria are:

- In the case of certified products, unauthorized additions such as wood preservatives, paints, pitch, bitumen, glass, slag, rust or metal chips are excluded.

- The certification also includes the verification of consumer information and warnings on the packaging.

- Impregnated charcoal and charcoal briquettes are additionally tested for safe use.

- Once a year, the certified product is monitored in the market.

Testing and Certification

Only those grill briquettes made from high-purity carbon concentrate can become certified with the mark "DIN-Geprüft" or "DINplus", which have proved their conformity with the DIN EN standard by a successfully passed test in a test laboratory recognized by DIN CERTCO and subsequent neutral evaluation.

After a positive evaluation of results DIN CERTCO issues a certificate valid for 2 years. In addition, in the first and second year, a market surveillance is carried out. Samples of the certified product are taken from the market. The certificate can be renewed for two further years after expiry of the validity and successful repetition of the laboratory tests. An individual register number on the certificate and on the product serves to protect against misuse of marks.

All DIN CERTCO certificate holders can be viewed on a daily basis under www.dincertco.de in the database.

• Drucken
  • E-Mail

Grill-Holzkohle / Grill-Holzkohlebriketts

Grill-Holzkohle / Grill-Holzkohlebriketts

Grill-Holzkohle wird durch das Köhlern von Holz oder sonstiger pflanzlicher Bestandteile hergestellt. Aus Teilchen der Grill-Holzkohle können zusammen mit geeignetem Bindemittel Grill-Holzkohlebriketts gepresst werden. Grill-Holzkohle und Grill-Holzkohlebriketts werden auch mit imprägniertem Anzündmittel im Handel angeboten. Beide Brennstoffe werden zum Grillen in Holzkohle-Grillgeräten verwendet.

Bei der Beurteilung der Grill-Holzkohle und Grill-Holzkohlebriketts spielen neben den gesundheitlich relevanten Prüfungen, wie die Suche nach artfremden Beimengungen auch Fragen der Gebrauchstauglichkeit eine wichtige Rolle: Ein besonders hoher Kohlenstoffgehalt sorgt für eine hervorragende Brennleistung, ein sehr günstiges Anzündverhalten und einen geringen Aschegehalt.

Grill-Holzkohle und Grill-Holzkohlebriketts mit dem Konformitätszeichen DIN-Geprüft erfüllen nachweislich alle Anforderungen der Norm.

Prüfgrundlagen

Die Europäische Norm DIN EN 1860-2 "Geräte, feste Brennstoffe und Anzündhilfen zum Grillen - Teil 2: Grill-Holzkohle und Grill-Holzkohlebriketts – Anforderungen und Prüfverfahren" und zusätzliche im Zertifizierungsprogramm festgelegte Anforderungen sind die Grundlage für Grill-Holzkohle und Grill-Holzkohlebriketts in Premiumqualität. Diese können mit dem Qualitätszeichen DINplus gekennzeichnet werden.

DINplus

Das Qualitätszeichen DINplus

Das Qualitätszeichen DINplus ist in der Brennstoffbranche durch die Zertifizierung von Holzpellets bekannt und anerkannt.

Ein besonders hoher Kohlenstoffgehalt sorgt für eine hervorragende Brennleistung, ein sehr günstiges Anzündverhalten und einen geringen Aschegehalt.

Zusätzliche Anforderungen:

  • Besonders geringer Aschegehalt:
    • Grill-Holzkohle: max. 4 % (wf)
    • Grill-Holzkohlebriketts: max. 15 % (wf)
  • Besonders hoher Kohlenstoffgehalt:
    • Grill-Holzkohle: min. 80 % (wf)
    • Grill-Holzkohlebriketts: min. 65 % (wf)
  • Kennzeichnung der Verpackung: siehe Merkblatt

Qualitätskriterien

Weitere Qualitätskritierien sind:

- Artfremde Beimengungen wie Holzschutzmittel, Anstrichstoffe, Pech, Bitumen, Glas, Schlacken, Rost oder Metallsplitter sind bei zertifizierten Produkten ausgeschlossen.

- Die Zertifizierung umfasst auch die Überprüfung von Verbraucherinformationen und Warnungen auf der Verpackung.

- Imprägnierte Grill-Holzkohle und Grill-Holzkohlebriketts werden zusätzlich hinsichtlich ihrer sicheren Anwendung überprüft.

- Einmal im Jahr findet eine Überwachung des zertifizierten Produktes im Markt statt.

Prüfung und Bewertung

Nur diejenigen Grill-Holzkohle und Grill-Holzkohlebriketts erhalten das Zeichen "DIN-Geprüft" oder "DINplus", die ihre Übereinstimmung mit der DIN EN Norm durch eine erfolgreich bestandene Prüfung in einem von DIN CERTCO anerkannten Prüflaboratorium und anschließender neutraler Bewertung unter Beweis gestellt haben.

Nach positivem Bewertungsergebnis erteilt DIN CERTCO ein Zertifikat, das 2 Jahre gültig ist. Zusätzlich im ersten und im zweiten Jahr erfolgt eine Überwachungsprüfung im Markt. Hierzu werden Proben des zertifizierten Produktes im Markt entnommen. Das Zertifikat kann nach Ablauf der Gültigkeit und erfolgreich durchgeführter Wiederholung der Laborprüfungen um jeweils zwei weitere Jahre verlängert werden. Eine individuelle Registernummer auf dem Zertifikat und auf dem Produkt dient dem Schutz vor Zeichenmissbräuchen.

Alle DIN CERTCO Zertifikatinhaber können tagesaktuell unter www.dincertco.de in der Datenbank eingesehen werden.