• Print
  • E-Mail

Wood Briquettes for Non-Industrial Use

Wood Briquettes for Non-Industrial Use

DIN CERTCO has tested and certified wood briquettes of different shapes and sizes being found primarily in home improvement markets since more than 15 years. The conformity mark DIN-Geprüft being issued by DIN CERTCO has for many years been a guarantee for the compliance of these products with the normative requirements. Following the publication of Part 3 of European Standard DIN EN 14961 the requirements for these biogenic solid fuels have become stricter at European level.

DINplus

DIN EN 14961-3 is being replaced by DIN EN ISO 17225-3

In September 2014 the international standard for wood briquettes DIN EN ISO 17225-3 took effect. DIN CERTCO has therefore decided to certify wood briquettes in keeping with the requirements for property class A1 referred to DIN EN ISO 17225-3 and therefore to certify the quality of wood briquettes being proved.

In addition to the standardized requirements this certification is currently the one and only certification of wood briquettes envisaging a regular analysis of the abrasion behavior of wood briquettes. Reason enough to assign the "DINplus" quality mark for these products.

Testing and Certification

Testing and certification of wood briquettes is described by DIN CERTCO in the corresponding Certification Scheme “Wood briquettes”. The testing standards for the products are both the international ISO as well the European Standard:

  • DIN EN ISO 17225-3 “Solid biofuels - Fuel specifications and classes - Part 3: Graded wood briquettes” - Property class A1
  • DIN EN 15210-2 “Solid fuels – Determination of mechanical durability of pellets and briquettes – Part 2: Briquettes”

These standards define the following requirements and test methods for wood briquettes. The following criteria are the matter of the test:

  • Origin and source of the wood used
  • Diameter, width, length and shape
  • Moisture content
  • Ash content
  • Particle density
  • Additives (type and quantity)
  • Calorific value
  • Permissible limits for N, S, Cl, As Cd, Cr, Cu, Pb, Hg
  • Labelling
  • Mechanical durability

Testing and Assessment

All laboratory tests are carried out on the basis of standardized test methods by an independent body.

These wood briquettes only which prove their compliance with property class A1 of the international standard as well their abrasion behavior by passing the mentioned test done by testing laboratory being approved by DIN CERTCO with ensuing neutral assessment may be applied with the quality mark "DINplus".

After a successful assessment DIN CERTCO will issue a certificate with a validity of 1 year long. The registration numberfor an explicit identification of the certified product is for example as follows: 9H000.

All certificate holders are conducted in a public list, which is available free of charge at any time on our website under “Certificate Holder”.

Monitoring and Renewal

Each such certificate can be renewed upon application for one year more if the laboratory tests confirm once again the compliance with the mentioned requirements. Wood briquettes with the DINplus quality mark are therefore matter of annual quality monitoring.

• Drucken
  • E-Mail

Holzbriketts für nichtindustrielle Anwendungen

Holzbriketts für nichtindustrielle Anwendungen

Die vornehmlich in den Bau- und Heimwerkermärkten zu findenden Holzbriketts unterschiedlicher Formen und Größen werden bereits seit mehr als 15 Jahren von DIN CERTCO überprüft und zertifiziert. Das Normenkonformitätszeichen DIN-Geprüft von DIN CERTCO ist für diese Produkte seit vielen Jahren Garant für die Einhaltung der normativen Anforderungen. Mit der Veröffentlichung des Teils 3 der DIN EN 17225 werden die Anforderungen dieser biogenen festen Brennstoffe auf europäische Ebene gehoben.

DINplus

DIN EN 14961-3 wird durch DIN EN ISO 17225-3 abgelöst

Im September 2014 trat die internationale Norm für Holzbriketts DIN EN ISO 17225-3 in Kraft. DIN CERTCO hat sich daher entschlossen, ihre Zertifizierung von Holzbriketts entsprechend den Anforderungen der Eigenschaftsklasse A1 der DIN EN ISO 17225-3 durchzuführen und damit die nachgewiesene Qualität der Holzbriketts zu zertifizieren.

Zusätzlich zu den genormten Anforderungen sieht diese Zertifizierung als bislang einzige Zertifizierung von Holzbriketts eine regelmäßige Überprüfung des Abriebverhaltens der Holzbriketts vor. Grund genug, für diese Produkte das Qualitätszeichen „DINplus“ zu vergeben.

Prüfung und Zertifizierung

Die Prüfung und Zertifizierung von Holzbriketts wird in dem dazugehörigen Zertifizierungsprogramm "Holzbriketts" von DIN CERTCO beschrieben. Prüfgrundlagen für die Produkte sind hierbei die internationale Norm und die Europäische Norm:

  • DIN EN ISO 17225-3 "Biogene Festbrennstoffe - Brennstoffspezifikationen und -klassen - Teil 3: Klassifizierung von Holzbriketts" - Eigenschaftsklasse A1
  • DIN EN 15210-2 "Feste Biobrennstoffe – Bestimmung der mechanischen Festigkeit von Pellets und Briketts – Teil 2: Briketts“

In den Normen sind die folgenden Anforderungen und Prüfverfahren für Holzbriketts festgelegt. Folgende Kriterien sind Gegenstand der Prüfung:

  • Herkunft und Quelle des verwendeten Holzes
  • Durchmesser, Breite, Länge und Form
  • Wassergehalt
  • Aschegehalt
  • Partikeldichte
  • Additive (Art und Menge)
  • Heizwert
  • zul. Grenzwerte für N, S, Cl, As Cd, Cr, Cu, Pb, Hg
  • Kennzeichnung
  • mechanische Festigkeit

Prüfung und Bewertung

Alle Laborprüfungen werden auf der Grundlage genormter Prüfmethoden von einer unabhängigen Prüfstelle durchgeführt.

Nur diejenigen Holzbriketts erhalten das Qualitätszeichen "DINplus", die ihre Übereinstimmung mit der Eigenschaftsklasse A1 der internationalen Norm sowie dem Abriebverhalten durch eine erfolgreich bestandene Prüfung in einem von DIN CERTCO anerkannten Prüflaboratorium und anschließender neutraler Bewertung unter Beweis gestellt haben.

Nach positivem Bewertungsergebnis erteilt DIN CERTCO ein Zertifikat, das 1 Jahre gültig ist. Die Registernummer zur eindeutigen Identifizierung des zertifizierten Produktes hat folgenden Aufbau: 9H000.

Alle Zertifikatinhaber werden in einer öffentlichen Liste geführt, die auf unserer Homepage unter "Zertifikatinhaber" jederzeit kostenlos abrufbar ist.

Überwachung und Verlängerung

Jedes Zertifikat kann auf Antrag um jeweils ein weiteres Jahr verlängert werden, wenn weitere Laborprüfungen die Einhaltung der Anforderungen erneut bestätigen. Holzbriketts mit dem Qualitätszeichen DINplus unterliegen somit einer jährlichen Qualitätsüberprüfung.